Goodreads Monday

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted here. To participate, choose a random book from your TBR and show it off! Don’t forget to link back here and link up to the inlinkz below so others can see what you picked!Β 

Hey guys! This weeks pick for me is a book that I got from Amazon last week! It is a Goodreads Backlog Book (my mission is to read at least one goodreads backlog book per month) and I am really looking forward to getting to it! Also, I absolutely love all of the covers in this series!

Etiquette and espionage

Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger

Published: February 5th 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

It’s one thing to learn to curtsy properly. It’s quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time. Welcome to Finishing School.

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners–and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. So she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality.

But Sophronia soon realizes the school is not quite what her mother might have hoped. At Mademoiselle Geraldine’s, young ladies learn to finish…everything. Certainly, they learn the fine arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but they also learn to deal out death, diversion, and espionage–in the politest possible ways, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year’s education.

I definitely think this looks fun and quirky and I can’t wait to get to it!

21 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday

  1. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Wow this does look like a fun book Lauren, I hope the story proves to be as good as the cover is. πŸ™‚ Also I love your idea of trying to get through you Goodreads backlog, I may have to start doing something like that myself soon! πŸ˜€
    Great pick for this week.

Leave a comment