City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones.JPG

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Published: July 2nd 2015 by Walker books

Irresistibly drawn towards a group of demon hunters, Clary encounters the dark side of New York City – and the dangers of forbidden love.

Well, excuse me whilst I go and kick myself for not having read this sooner! Extremely disappointed in myself right now! I was completely hooked by this book. It was a fun and quick read.

I really liked Clary as a character! She has no idea what is going on, or what has happened/what is happening, but she manages to stay strong throughout the book. She is definitely one of those characters where I could easily imagine myself being friends with her. I did feel really sorry for her, especially because her whole life is not what she thought it was. She has no idea who she really is and everything is sort of sprung on her all at once! She also seems to have a lot of luck where fighting comes in – she seems to be someone who is handy in a sticky situation! Let’s adopt her…

I also really like Jace, despite the fact that he rarely shows how he is truly feeling. It is easy to understand why he is the way that he is when his backstory is revealed and I basically wanted to wrap him up in some bubble wrap and spring lovey emotions all over him just so he feels like he belongs and is wanted. Despite that, he is still a really strong, kick butt character – another handy person to have about when there are demons lurking in the shadows.

I was not convinced by the fact that Simon so easily believed Clary when she first told him everything that was happening. She tells him about demons etc. and he believed her no questions asked – which is really unrealistic, in my opinion.

Can we just talk about the plot twist glory that happened in this book!! Everything that happened toward the ending left me with a hanging mouth and pretty dang shocked!! I did not see half of it coming and I still cannot believe that I haven’t read this book sooner! I don’t want to mention too much, in case there is a reader who has yet to read the book, like myself, but I loved the twists that happened and I really cannot wait to see what happens next!

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. I really do wish I had read them sooner because it was EPIC! I gave this book 4/5 stars!

11 thoughts on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

  1. Inked Epiphanies says:

    I really loved first couple books in the series but literally dragged myself through the last ones. Such a pity! I hope your experience with the series is going to be as pleasant as possible! Also, the cover is so pretty!

  2. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Great review for this book Lauren. I need to re-read the first three books and then carry on with this series because I have to get around to Lady Midnight at some point and your review has really made me want to pick up City of Bones again ASAP! I remember when I first read this book that plot twist at the end completely blew me away so I know how you feel about it.

Leave a comment