City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

city-of-ashes

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Published: July 2nd 2015 by Walker Books

Love and power are the deadliest temptations. Haunted by her past, Clary is dragged deeper into New York City’s terrifying underworld of demons and Shadowhunters – but can she control her feelings for a boy who can never be hers?

I absolutely loved the first instalment in this series, so I immediately cracked open this book when I was finished. Despite this book not being the most original thing out there, it was still a really fun read and I still really enjoyed myself reading this!

I really liked Clary in this book. Despite everything that has happened to her throughout the first book and even what happens to her in this book, she still remains basically the same person who she has always been. She struggles to come to terms with how she feels about Jace, which is understandable, but she still stood by him and protected him when he needed her the most – which I think is a really strong character trait to have! I did feel sorry for her in certain places within this book and I cannot wait to see where he journey takes her next! Especially after finding out how different she really is!

I felt really sorry for Jace throughout this entire book! It seems like everything and everyone is against him, despite the fact that he hasn’t actually done anything wrong! It was just one bad thing after another after another and he started to take it out on those around him who were trying to protect him! I get that, but I was still a little miffed about it! I do, however, think there is something fishy about the fact that he and Clary are brother and sister… that is to say, I don’t believe that they are related. I just don’t quite know why or what yet!

I also felt really sorry for Simon! Poor sausage… after everything that happens with Clary and the Seelie court etc. That had to go and happen to him! Really? I don’t want to give too much away, but I was not expecting it – especially with the amount of protection that he normally has! I definitely felt better for him toward the end after he had spoken to Clary and everything else that happened!

All in all, I really quite enjoyed this story, the plot and the characters both alike! It wasn’t the most original thing in the world, but I still had a fun time reading it and I cannot wait to carry on with the series! I gave this book 4/5 stars!

4 thoughts on “City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

  1. Inked Epiphanies says:

    Are you not sleeping at all?ahaha I’m pretty sure we talked about City of Bones just yesterday!
    Anyways, reading your reviews gives me nostalgia 😭 I keep remembering random scenes from the books

  2. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Wow you got through this book quickly, but I guess this series can be quite addictive if you’re enjoying it as much as you seem to be. Great review for this book Lauren, I really need to get around to this series again soon your reviews are making me want to pick them up ASAP! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

