Friends vs Family by C. L. Stone

friensd vs family

Sang Sorenson is forced to suffer through another of her mother’s extreme punishments. It almost kills her. The Academy boys vow it will be the last. They’re determined to keep Sang safe, especially from her own family.

Their solution: complete invasion of her life.

Kota, Luke, Silas, Nathan, Victor, Gabriel and North do everything within their power to show Sang what true loyalty means. It takes more than blood to make a family and they want Sang in theirs.

In this third book of The Academy series Sang experiences a taste of freedom and what it’s like to truly be cared for…to be wanted. Sang learns a bit more about the boys’ broken families and the boys discover more than they could ever have bargained for about Sang’s. The Academy was the answer to their problems. Could it be hers?

Sang’s actions will force her mother to reveal a startling truth. A truth that will change Sang’s life and the boys’ lives in unpredictable ways. Forever.

The Academy, Allegiance (Goodreads)

This is the third book in The Ghost Bird series and boy it was amazing!! I can’t believe it has taken me this long to actually get around to reading this series. I could and should kick myself for it.

What I loved about this book is that we got to see more into Sang’s home life and the problems that she faces with her mother and her sister. Whilst Mrs Sorenson is a character that you would normally just have to hate, you can’t hate her because of her illness. You actually feel sorry for her and the state that she is in. Whilst I don’t want to spoil anything for potential readers of this series – the twist was AMAZING!! I think I sat there for about five minutes just working my head around it. It was shocking and powerful and just everything you would want to see in a twist!

I guess this book seems to throw away the idea that you can’t choose your family. In Sangs case and the boys, they have chosen their family and they stick by one another. I found it cute how they all interacted with Sang and the fact that they were openly flirting but she never noticed or isn’t used to it. I think while some of these boys are more dating material, others would be more like a brother. It’s a good mix of characters and personalities within a limited group. There were times that, whilst reading, I was sat with a massive grin on my face or laughing along with the characters.It almost felt like I was there with them, watching their antics – I felt connected, something that I love within a book!

What I would love now is to be able to get to know Mr Blackbourne and Dr Green better. At the moments, whilst there have been appearances, it hasn’t been long enough for me and I would love to see them some more – especially since they are part of the team.

I am also looking forward to learning some more about The Academy. We learnt some about how The Academy works and runs, but I am just a burning ball of desire for more information. Reading on is the only option!

I gave this book 5/5 stars! 🙂

Leave a Reply

